Young Lust: The Aerosmith Anthology| Released: 2001 | Geffen Records | Gold |
Just Push Play: Tour Dates 2001-2002

  Disc 1:
1)  Let the Music do the Talking
2)  My Fist Your Face
3)  Shame on You
4)  Heart's Done Time
5)  Rag Doll
6)  Dude (Looks Like a Lady)
7)  Angel
8)  Hangman Jury
9)  Permanent Vacation
10)  Young Lust
11)  The Other Side
12)  What it Takes
13)  Monkey on my Back
14)  Love in an Elevator
15)  Janie's Got a Gun
16)  Ain't Enough
17)  Walk this Way (with Run-DMC)
  Disc 2:
1)  Eat the Rich
2)  Love Me Two Times
3)  Head First
4)  Livin' on the Edge (acoustic version)
5)  Don't Stop
6)  Can't Stop Messin'
7)  Amazing (orchestral version)
8)  Cryin'
9)  Crazy
10)  Shut Up and Dance
11)  Deuces are Wild
12)  Walk on Water
13)  Blind Man
14)  Falling in Love (is Hard on the Knees) (live)
15)  Dream On (live)
16)  Hole in My Soul (live)
17)  Sweet Emotion (live)


Few bands in rock & roll history have enjoyed the kind of over-the-top successful second act Aerosmith has that makes Behind-The-Music producers salivate and reinforces the legend moniker generally associated with these New England hard rockers. The 2-CD YOUNG LUST is a handy anthology of the band's Geffen years that chronicles this Boston quintet's climb back from the depths of drug abuse, personal turmoil and dramatic excess.

MTV-friendly hits like "Rag Doll," "(Dude) Looks Like A Lady" and "Cryin'" are featured alongside the band's breakthrough Run-D.M.C. rap-rock summit ("Walk This Way") and a clutch of live favorites ("Sweet Emotion," "Dream On"). Along the way, Aerosmith found success infusing their writing with cheeky double-entendres ("Love In An Elevator"), serious topics like child abuse ("Janie's Got A Gun") and flat-out displays of guitar-soaked manna (the resurrected Joe Perry Project nugget "Let The Music Do The Talking"). Also included are the chugging, blues-driven, Japan-only "Ain't Enough," defiant non-album rocker "Don't Stop" and a soaring orchestral version of "Amazing." Even Aerosmith's contributions from the soundtracks to Air America (a stomping cover of "Love Me Two Times") and The Beavis & Butthead Experience (an infinitely catchy "Deuces Are Wild") get the nod on this far-reaching anthology.


YOUNG LUST: THE AEROSMITH ANTHOLOGY contains tracks recorded for Geffen between 1985 and 1998.

The 2005 release Gold is a repackaging of the 2001 double-disc collection Young Lust, bearing a different title and cover but the same 34 songs as the previous release.

Steven Tyler (vocals);
Joe Perry (guitar);
Brad Whitford (guitar);
Tom Hamilton (bass);
Joey Kramer (drums, percussion).

Producers includes:
Ted Templeman, Bruce Fairbairn, Michael Beinhorn, Aerosmith, Jack Douglas.

Compilation producer:
Mike Ragogna.

Includes liner notes by Gerri Miller.

Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (Universal Mastering Studios-West, Hollywood, California)

Album - Billboard (North America)

Year Chart Position
2001 The Billboard 200 191

Bookmark and Share

Social Comments


CD Universe - New Release Music CDs up to 30% Off
Hosted by Chamberland Technologies
Privacy Policy